16 Comments

Start Collecting… Squats!

Last year sadly one of my favourite Hobby Shops, Ian Allen in Birmingham closed down. I was gutted that it went, but did pick up a few bargains in the shut down sale, one of them was a Kharadon Overlords start collecting set. I could have built this ‘out of the box’ and added it to my small Kharadron overlord army, but no. I had other plans for it.

I have always loved the idea of Squats… space dwarves! Dwarves are my favorite fantasy army, so what’s not to love about the ideo of a space version. Okay, Games Workshop don’t agree, they shelved this army years ago and wrote them out of the fluff… but so what! I’ve never been a salve to ‘cannon’ or ‘lore’. I make up my own.. The WH40k universe is so vast, uncharted and has such a long timeline it is a great sand box to play in and make your own stuff up.

I decided to make this box into my version of a start collecting squats. These are all heavy weapons teams, with a small land speeder and a servo bot. I have already made a few Squats before so adding these heavy weapons and support is the basis of a good army.

16 comments on “Start Collecting… Squats!

  1. Superb job mate, these look brilliant! I love the guys with the Cadian helmets šŸ™‚

  2. I like them! šŸ™‚ The speeder looks really good, but my favourite is the bot (which would look pretty good in a steampunk setting)!

  3. Oh I like those! I have a scheme to make a squat gang for Necromunda some day, when that time finally arrives I’ll be picking over these for inspiration for sure šŸ™‚

  4. Those are fantastic! One of my first 40k boxes was the Space Dwarfs set with 36 figures in, man I ruined those with a shocking paint job! Brilliant to see these and Iā€™m now regretting selling off my Kharadrons….. but I still have some epic squats though.

  5. That is wonderful. The video is class too. Bring back the ‘half-pint Hell’s Angels’!

  6. Wow, those dwarves are pretty brilliant; I particularly like that speeder.

  7. Another awesome post – Love me some Squats and it’s great to see how you’ve taken the initiative and turned some Overlords – something a lot of people talk about, even more people think about (myself included) but something people rarely actually go ahead and do! šŸ™‚

Say something...